2013 Lamar York Prize Winners and Finalists

Thank you to all entrants in the Lamar York Prizes for Fiction and Nonfiction for sending us great work and for making our prizes a success. On the task of selecting favorites (always subjective, of course), we were honored to consider so many fine submissions and to hand our judges such a gratifying challenge. We encourage all of our entrants to keep writing, and to keep reading literary journals like ours. All entrants receive a subscription, and we hope they are encouraged by their fellow writers.


2013 Lamar York Prize Winners and Finalists


Winner in Nonfiction
“Coyote,” Ming Holden


Winner in Fiction
“Bodega,” Amina Gautier


Finalists in Nonfiction
“Söyleyelim,” Delaney Nolan
“Netting the Air,” Ron Tanner
“An Appearance of. . . Noctiluca,” Jeffrey DeLotto
“Sudden Death: A Eulogy,” Jacob Appel
“Tableland,” by Jeffrey Schneider
“Father-Daughter Dance,” Sue Lick

Finalists in Fiction
“Winnemucca,” Ron Tanner
“Patience, Jackass,” Frank Soos
“The Tourists,” Gregory Brown
“The Rat,” Kathleen Spivack
“The Eel,” Jill Koenigsdorf