2014 Townsend Prize for Fiction Award Ceremony

The Chattahoochee Review and Georgia Perimeter College are pleased to announce the hosting of the 2014 Townsend Prize for Fiction award ceremony, which will take place on Thursday, April 24, 2014 at 7 p.m. at the Atlanta Botanical Garden.

Created in memory of Jim Townsend, founding editor of Atlanta magazine and mentor to some of the state of Georgia’s most distinguished authors, the Townsend Prize is presented biennially to a Georgia writer who is judged to have published an outstanding work of fiction during the preceding two years of the prize’s awarding.

As has become customary, an eclectic mix of Georgia writers are vying for this year’s award of $2,000 and the commemorative silver tray. The finalists for the 2014 prize are:

  • Stacia Brown for Accidents of Providence (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • Amber Dermont for The Starboard Sea (St Martin’s Griffin)
  •  Joshilyn Jackson for Someone Else’s Love Story (William Morrow)
  • Sheri Joseph for Where You Can Find Me (Thomas Dunne Books)
  • Charles McNair for Pickett’s Charge (Livingston Press)
  •  Jamie Quatro for  I Want to Show You More: Stories (Grove Press)
  • Josh Russell for A True History of the Captivation, Transport to Strange Lands, & Deliverance of Hannah Guttentag (Dzanc Books)
  • Susan Rebecca White for A Place at the Table (Touchstone)
  • Philip Lee Williams for Emerson’s Brother (Mercer University Press)
  • Anthony Winkler for God Carlos (Akashic Books)

Admission to the Townsend Prize award ceremony costs $25.00, which includes:

  •  self-guided tours of the Atlanta Botanical Garden beginning at 5 p.m.
  • an informal meet-and-greet and book signing with the prize’s finalists, accompanied by an hors d’oeuvres reception, cash bar, and jazz band performances beginning at 6:30 p.m., followed by
  • the award ceremony at 7 p.m., during which 2011 National Book Award winner, Jesmyn Ward, will present the keynote address. Former editor-in-chief of Atlanta magazine and award-winning journalist, Lee Walburn, will also speak about Jim Townsend and his legacy.

Registration and payment for admission to the award ceremony is available from January 16 through April 10 via the following link: http://giving.gpc.edu/townsend. Registration and payment is only available online, so be sure to register and pay before the April 10 deadline.

For directions to the Atlanta Botanical Garden and for more information about the Townsend Prize, visit GPC’s Townsend Prize Webpage at http://gpc.edu/townsend.

With a legacy of more than a quarter century, the Townsend Prize is Georgia’s oldest and most prestigious literary award. Georgia Perimeter College has been the custodian and principle sponsor of the award ceremony since 1997, and along with the prize’s administrators—The Chattahoochee Review and the Georgia Center for the Book—is the host of the event.