Lamar York Prizes

Two prizes of $1,000.00 each and publication in The Chattahoochee Review are awarded to a winning story and essay in the annual Lamar York Prizes for Fiction and Nonfiction, which honor the founder and former editor of The Chattahoochee Review.

  • Send stories and essays of up to 6,000 words, double-spaced.
  • Entries must be submitted via Submittable (under the appropriate contest category) between November 1 and January 31. Early submissions are encouraged. We no longer accept paper submissions. All entries will be considered for publication.
  • Submissions are judged anonymously. Please include a cover letter in the appropriate Submittable entry field with the entry’s title and entrant’s name, address, and phone number. Remove identifying information from the file attachment.
  • Simultaneous submissions are permissible, though we ask to be notified immediately upon acceptance elsewhere (
  • An entry fee of $18 (nonrefundable) includes a one-year subscription to The Chattahoochee Review beginning with the Spring issue.
  • No theoretical, scholarly, or critical essays will be considered, but all other approaches and topics are welcome. Only unpublished essays and stories will be considered.
  • Congratulations to the 2020 Lamar York Prize recipients: Lisa Nikolidakis for her story “With Mercy to the Stars” and Rachel Toliver for her essay “Catharsis, Diagnosis.” A special thanks to our judges, Alice Bolin for Nonfiction and Anthony Varallo for Fiction. Congratulations also to the finalists in each category, who appear on the blog.
  • The editors support the Community of Literary Magazines and Presses Contest Code of Ethics. Editors will select ten finalists in each category, and judges will select one winner each. Students, former students, close associates, and friends of the judges must refrain from entering. Former winners of the prizes are also ineligible. Employees and students of Georgia State University, former students of the editors, and close friends or associates of the editors must also refrain from submitting.



Anthony Varallo is the author of a novel, The Linesas well as four short story collections: Everyone Was There, winner of the Elixir Press Fiction Award; This Day in History, winner of the John Simmons Short Fiction Award; Out Loud, winner of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize; and Think of Me and I’ll Know. Currently he is a professor of English at the College of Charleston, where he is also the fiction editor of Crazyhorse.


Alice Bolin is the author of the essay collection Dead Girls: Essays on Surviving an American Obsession, New York Times Notable Book of 2018 and Edgar Award nominee for Best Critical/Biographical. Kirkus called it “an illuminating study on the role women play in the media and in their own lives.” Bolin received her MFA in poetry from the University of Montana and currently teaches creative nonfiction in the MFA program at the University of Memphis.

Community of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP) Contest Code of Ethics:

“CLMP’s community of independent literary publishers believes that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to (1) conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors; (2) to provide clear and specific contest guidelines defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and (3) to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public. This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically. We have adopted this Code to reinforce our integrity and dedication as a publishing community and to ensure that our contests contribute to a vibrant literary heritage.”